Fromagerie Maître Corbeau Cheese

One of the measures accredited by the City of Montréal was to scrub up the neighbourhood and enhance the area’s status, as we shall see somewhat additional. In 1912, this green area, surrounded by typical Montréal triplexes, replaced the Saint-Henri slaughterhouses, whose putrid stench had permeated the complete area. The fairly cast-iron fountain in the course of the sq. is particularly fascinating. From 1925 to 1967, the constructing was occupied by the Institut du Radium, which specialized in cancer analysis.

Iga Specific Quartier Des Spectacles

You can follow this up with a trek down the residential lanes and energetic Avenue du Mont-Royal of the Plateau Mont-Royal neighbourhood, the right introduction to Francophone Montréal. Next, set your sights on the city’s green lung, Mount Royal Park, for a breathtaking view of the city. Devout Catholics and structure buffs can go to the Oratoire Saint-Joseph, one of the most visited religious websites in all of Canada. Maison Minnie Louise Davis (1240 Chemin Du Bord-du-Lac), inbuilt 1922, reveals the interest certain architects of British descent and their shoppers had in conventional Québec architecture between the two World Wars. These people even went as far as to build new properties in the style of the 18th century.

Café Victor

Farther up, immediately behind the boarding faculty, lies the rather more trendy Pavillon Marie-Victorin, which was initially used as a school by the nuns before being bought by the Université de Montréal for its Faculty of Education. Even higher, this time right on the mountain, stands the Pavillon de la Faculté de Musique , which is part of the Université de Montréal. The building’s live performance hall, the Salle ClaudeChampagne, is famend for its distinctive acoustics and is frequently used for recordings. The grounds provide a exceptional view of Outremont, in addition to the whole northern part of the island of Montréal. Finally, east of and slightly under this building, on Boulevard MontRoyal , the nuns’ mother house, constructed in the 1920s, completes the tableau.

Leave a Reply